Wednesday, March 25, 2015

CTMC (IDW/SS) Adam J. Birkholz wins 2015 NCVA Award for Cryptologic Support Excellence

Congratulations to Chief Petty Officer Adam Birkholz who today was announced as the winner of Commander, U.S. TENTH Fleet's 2015 Award for Cryptologic Support Excellence (ACSE).
Chief Birkholz was nominated for the 2015 ACSE due to his exceptional leadership as the NIOC Yokosuka Fleet Electronics Support (FES) Leading Chief Petty Officer during calendar year 2014. He transferred to NIOC Bahrain in late 2014.
C10F's official announcement (RMG 231803ZMAR15):
RMKS/1. In 1987, an award for cryptologic excellence was created by Commander, Naval Security Group based upon a proposal by the Naval Cryptologic Veterans Association (NCVA) to recognize Navy and Marine Corps personnel for their superior accomplishments in cryptologic support functions.
2. Commander, U.S. Fleet Cyber Command U.S TENTH Fleet is pleased to announce CTMC(IDW/SS) Adam J. Birkholz, USN, Navy Information Operation Command (NIOC) Bahrain as the 2015 ACSE winner. Before transferring to NIOC Bahrain, Chief Birkholz expertly led NIOC Yokosuka's mission to provide cryptologic maintenance support to multiple ships across the Forward Deployed Naval Forces, including helping USS FITZGERALD (DDG 62) prepare for and ultimately pass the SSES portion of their INSURV inspection. Further, he coordinated the deployment of one DIRSUP CTM to USS MCCAMPBELL (DDG 85) for five months in order to assist them during a period of austere CTM manning. His leadership in this area enabled FDNF ships to maintain a high level of cryptologic operational readiness which is challenging due to the distance and time zone difference from the surface ship TYCOM and SPAWAR System Centers (SSC) in Charleston, SC and San Diego, CA and FDNF surface ships.
3. The competition was particularly keen for this year's
nominees and congratulations also go to the following nominees:
a. YNCM Donald R. Carter, NAVIOCOM Georgia
b. CTM1 (IDW/SW/AW) Asia S. White, NAVIOCOM Whidbey Island
c. YN1 (IDW/AW) Philip M. Breeze, NAVIOCOM Pensacola
d. YN1 (IDW/EXW/SW/AW) Phefelia E. Flournoy, NAVIOCOM Colorado
e. CTM2(SW) Kiia Synnestvedt, USS CHOSIN (CG-65)
f. CTM3(SW) Anthony Turner, USS NEW YORK (LPD-21)

4. These outstanding information warriors and cryptologists exemplify leadership, initiative, resourcefulness and dedication, and personify the highest traditions established for cryptologic excellence by the ACSE.
5. Congratulations and well done! Released by VADM Jan E. Tighe, USN, Commander, U.S. Fleet Cyber Command/U.S. TENTH Fleet.//


Anonymous said...

Congratulations to all of these fine Sailors.

LCDRLDO/6440 said...

Awesome! BRAVO ZULU Chief Birkholz!

And to think the CTM rating was almost disestablished a few years ago is beyond belief.

Robert Goehring said...

Well done, Chief. Glad to see the Matmen are still doing great and wonderful things in support of our great Navy.

CTMCM, USN, Retired